03. Oct 2013.

Study Visit to Croatia on Project “ReEnergy: Towards Local Sustainable Energy Planning”

Within “ReEnergy: Towards Local Sustainable Energy Planning” initiative in period of 29th September to 2nd October, study visit to Croatia has been organized. Participants of this study visit were representatives of associations, regional development agencies, academic institutions, local self-government units and media. During this study visit they were introduced with good practice examples in energy management on local level and achievements of Croatian actors in energy efficiency and renewable energy sources.

Participants have visited Department of Engineering and Energy Management Chair of Faculty of Mechanical Engineering and Naval Architecture of University in Zagreb. Researchers engaged in this Department have presented its projects and its activities and pointed out the importance of cooperation between academics and public policy makers.

United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) in Croatia has presented its projects in area of sustainable energy and low carbon development, particularly emphasizing programme of supporting special forms of energy management on local level, such as energy cooperatives. This form of energy management on local level is significantly developed in EU, but in Croatia it is on its very beginning.

The participants were also at the round table organized in UNDP premises where they have talked with representatives of Society for Sustainable Development Design and Henirich Böll Foundation.

North-West Croatia Regional Energy Agency has presented its activities on promotion and stimulating regional sustainable development to the participants of study visit.

Participants have also been introduced with local communities’ achievements in applying energy efficiency measures in building construction during their visit to Krizevci and Koprivnica

Study visit was organized and implemented by Centre for European Integration of Belgrade Open School and Friedrich Ebert Foundation Office for Serbia and Montenegro.